(Belcamp, Maryland – November 15, 2013) Harford County Public Library awarded the prestigious Roenna Fahrney Recognition Award at their recent annual Staff In-Service Day event.

The Individual Award went to employee Cindy Shockley. Two team awards were presented. One went to Teresa Zephir and Karen Welsh of the Inter-Library Loan Team and the other to the Little Leapers Launch Team whose members included Sue Asselin, Megan Baker, Donna Blackburn, Shelley Dolan, Jennifer Fesche, Hillary Fifer, Jeannine Finton, Melissa Harrah, Cindy Height, Janine Lis, Daria Parry, Margaret Polischeck, Kathy Prior, Jennifer Ralston, Amber Shrodes, and Claudia Sumler.

The Roenna Fahrney Recognition Award was established in 1994 and is presented to an individual or team who has been nominated by their peers and embodies the “service to the community” spirit demonstrated by Ms. Roenna Fahrney, Library Director from 1957 to 1978. Library staff who received a milestone service award or attained an educational achievement were also recognized.

Harford County Public Library operates eleven branches located throughout Harford County, Maryland. The library serves 182,000 registered borrowers of all ages and has an annual circulation of over 4.1 million. Harford County Public Library is committed to connecting people with information and promoting the love of reading within the community.


Photo caption #1: Staff members, recognized for their achievements, pose for a group shot at the Library’s annual Staff In-Service Day.

Comments are closed.